Monday, April 7, 2014

BLOG TOUR: COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS BY M.J. ROSE

Hi everyone. Today I am participating in a blog tour for a book. The book is called, "Collector of Dying Breaths." Author: M.J. Rose.



In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating fragrance is plucked from poverty to become Catherine de Medici’s perfumer. To repay his debt, over the years René le Florentine is occasionally called upon for a darker purpose: the creation of deadly poisons used to dispatch the Queen’s rivals. But it’s René’s other passion—a desire to reanimate a human breath, to bring back the lives of the two people whose deaths have devastated him—that incites a dangerous treasure hunt five centuries later.

That’s when Jac L’Etoile—suffering in modern day France from a heartache of her own—becomes obsessed with the possibility of unlocking René’s secret to immortality. Soon Jac’s search reconnects her with Griffin North, a man she’s loved her entire life. Together they confront an eccentric heiress whose art collection rivals many museums and who is determined to keep her treasures close at hand, in both this life and the next.

Set alternately in the sixteenth century and modern day France, THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS is a transporting gothic novel—perfect for readers of Anne Rice, Deborah Harkness, and Diana Gabaldon— about finding the courage to confront fate's fickle whims and is a powerful reminder that our souls live on in those we leave behind.  



ABOUT THE AUTHOR:


M.J. Rose is the international bestselling author of fourteen novels and two nonfiction books. She is a founding board member of International Thriller Writers and founded the first marketing company for authors:AuthorBuzz.com. Rose lives in Connecticut with composer Doug Scofield, and their very spoiled dog, Winka. To learn more about M.J. Rose and her work, visit her website at: www.mjrose.com.



THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS: A Novel of Suspense
By M.J. Rose
Atria Books; April 8, 2014
$25.00 (US)/ $28.99 (Can.); 384 pages
ISBN: 978-1-4516-2153-2
eBook: 978-1-4516-2155-6



My review:

This book is actually the 6th installment in the author M.J. Rose's reincarnationist series. But having never actually read any of these books before, I can tell you you can read this book as a stand alone book.

I actually would really like to check out/read the previous books now in this series.

This book was different from other books that I usually read, but I was intrigued by the subject and characters in this book.  

The story revolves around two main characters - the current day is a women named Jac and the 16th century historic portion is a man named René le Florentin. 

Both stories are about them trying to figure out a formula to reanimate the souls of dead loved ones. While dealing with their unscrupulous bosses and all their rivals. And racing against time to make the formula work.

This is an entertaining book, and I would recommend it to anyone who would like to read a fast-paced book. That is a historical-thriller/romance book.


Visit the author's website: MJRose.com 

Purchase book at these websites:




Disclosure: I received a copy of this book for review purposes only, from Publisher. And all opinions are my own.